PDA

View Full Version : Network Setup Help



pveldt
12-18-2007, 06:24 PM
Here's my situation. I haven't started yet. I have a desktop and laptop I just bought. I bought a Linksys wireless router WRT54G. I've setup a basic network before with 2 PC's. However, I also have a Linksys VOIP router from Vianet and 1 cable modem. What's the best way for me to set this up to have no problems? I have to make sure I guess that both routers don't have the same IP address. And if needed, be able to login into both routers for setups, etc. Currently with the VOIP, I use port forwarding to enable Torrent downloads.

Thanks for any help in advance!
Paulie

hemi_69
12-18-2007, 06:29 PM
leave the IP addresses as they are, plug the cable modem into the upstream port on the WRT54G plug the desktop into port 1, 2, or 3 plug the Linksys VOIP adapter into Port 4 you should be all set from here, thats the exact same basics I have setup right now except there 2 hubs and a few extra computers

pveldt
12-18-2007, 08:35 PM
OK, I'll give it a shot. If I have any problems, I'll repost here.

Thankx

hemi_69
12-18-2007, 08:49 PM
NP, shouldnt have any problems, if anything you might have to upgrade the firmware on the router (depending on the manufacture date) to work properly with Vista