PDA

View Full Version : what do u think of this



General Lee
01-08-2008, 09:26 AM
i am going to be upgrading next friday to this:


amd 6000+ 3.0 ghz
4GB 2X2GB DDR2-800 G.Skill Ram
ASUS M2N-E SLI for a mobo


all for under 400


curentlyt i have a acer pre fab with a amd 4000+ x2- 2.1 ghz, 2 gigs of ram and a( evga 8600 gt sc that i go for x mas)

so i think it is a decent upgrad and the wife gets a new build lol all my old stuff i will be adding another 8600 gt sc in the future

Killswitch
01-08-2008, 09:49 AM
I'm upgrading to this:

AMD 5000+ BE
4 x 1Gb DDR2-800 G.Skill
Gigabyte MA790X-DS4

All for under $440.

Your choices aren't too bad, but the AM2 platform is at the end of it's rope, and if you plan on getting a Phenom that AM2 mobo might hold it back. I'm not sure though since I haven't been able to find any proof of that. But if your going SLI you don't really have any other choices other then switching to Intel....... EEEEEEEWWWWWW!!!!!! j/k

Maryms
01-08-2008, 09:51 AM
Not bad for a small upgrade as you will see a benefit from the CPU is all as DD2 is not much faster then DDR is the same class.

2 x 8600 GT sc cards will be a nice addition for a decent gamer rig and who knows maybe in the future you will go quad-core.

General Lee
01-08-2008, 10:54 AM
i already have ddr 2 so i am not going from ddr to ddr 2

General Lee
01-08-2008, 10:56 AM
for the amount of gamming i do 2 8600gt sc will be good enough the only game i play right now for pc is crysis the rest are 360 games the only reason i am really upgrading is to get eth wife a newer pc her's is out of date so i am sure this will be good for me i do not need top of the line to show off to ppl i am a simple person

AmdWolfman
01-08-2008, 04:57 PM
it'll do

Maryms
01-08-2008, 05:05 PM
Nobody really gets top of the line to show off, but they do so in order to have a new top notch system to hopefully last them for a year or two or three, depends on their needs. The build your building is suited to your needs and your wife should be happy with your older build.

General Lee
01-08-2008, 05:47 PM
she will be she only has a 1.6 ghz septron or whatever with a gig of ram and a radeon 9000 lmao

Maryms
01-08-2008, 05:48 PM
LMAO that is old for sure.

AmdWolfman
01-13-2008, 01:58 PM
that stuff is maybe 2 yrs old. she'll be happy enuff. you two should lan them and go play online. that would be fun.

AmdWolfman
01-13-2008, 02:03 PM
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: General Lee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">she will be she only has a 1.6 ghz septron or whatever with a gig of ram and a radeon 9000 lmao </div></div>

heck i would be happy if things got bad I would run that machine. np there

General Lee
01-13-2008, 02:55 PM
its junk imo

AmdWolfman
01-13-2008, 03:18 PM
sell it and part it out and get her a nicer setup. I know it's junk, you'ld use it if came down to it.

Maryms
01-13-2008, 03:19 PM
Ah that is fine for her.

Hans
01-13-2008, 03:25 PM
By my stuff in the next couples of weeks, lol.

General Lee
01-13-2008, 03:38 PM
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Hans</div><div class="ubbcode-body">By my stuff in the next couples of weeks, lol. </div></div>


naw new stuff will be ordered on friday unless u have a decent psu for sale lol

General Lee
01-13-2008, 03:38 PM
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Soonet Member</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Ah that is fine for her. </div></div>ya but its hard to sell oem crap from acer like the cpu mobo and ram no idea who makes the mobo

Maryms
01-13-2008, 03:39 PM
Its probably a intel mobo.

General Lee
01-13-2008, 03:50 PM
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Soonet Member</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Its probably a intel mobo. </div></div>

no its a am2 set up with a 4000 x2 in it with 2 gigs of ram

Maryms
01-13-2008, 03:58 PM
The ACER?

General Lee
01-13-2008, 03:59 PM
ya

General Lee
01-13-2008, 03:59 PM
that is what i am curently using

Maryms
01-13-2008, 03:59 PM
Well then give her that as it is a decent build for her.

General Lee
01-13-2008, 04:00 PM
her's is 1.6 ghz septron or whatever with a gig of ram and a radeon 9000 lmao

Maryms
01-13-2008, 04:00 PM
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: General Lee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">her's is 1.6 ghz septron or whatever with a gig of ram and a radeon 9000 lmao </div></div>

Ah ... well sell it off.

General Lee
01-13-2008, 04:01 PM
i do not really think it would be useful to sell it not worth much imo

Maryms
01-13-2008, 04:03 PM
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: General Lee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">i do not really think it would be useful to sell it not worth much imo</div></div>

Money = Money

General Lee
01-13-2008, 04:32 PM
ya but not much lol

Maryms
01-13-2008, 04:34 PM
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: General Lee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">ya but not much lol</div></div>

Every bit helps towards your new build.

General Lee
01-13-2008, 04:35 PM
already have that money lol this is just icing on the cake mabey i can trade it for a psu

Maryms
01-13-2008, 04:36 PM
Maybe ask Mboy67 see what he has or sell it to him.

General Lee
01-13-2008, 04:38 PM
i tried to the soprano case from him that i sold him but he will not budge lol

Maryms
01-13-2008, 04:40 PM
LMAO ... would you?

General Lee
01-13-2008, 04:44 PM
well.. lol