PDA

View Full Version : Water Cooling.



Drools
01-09-2008, 05:08 PM
How many of the Over Clockers are water cooling? What are you using?

\m/ Rich \m/
01-09-2008, 05:12 PM
on my AMD opteron 165, it was 1.8ghz stock... with my coolit Freezone wtaercooling system (which is for sale - 100$) i was able to push 3ghz with extremely stable temps. The only thing holding me back from going higher was that my chip just couldnt do any higher.

The nice thing about the Freezone is that its an all in one WC system, you dont need worry about having all the parts, or cutting hose, are making sure everything is sealed.

Maryms
01-09-2008, 05:28 PM
Water Cooling is for the extreme overclocking and with the newer Quad-Core Yorkfields coming out i think AIR Cooling will do nice to 3.6ghz-3.8ghz, but time will tell.

Ultra54
01-09-2008, 06:46 PM
Koolance EXOS 2 on my Q6600 quad
http://i122.photobucket.com/albums/o257/Ultra54/IM002037.jpg
http://www.koolance.com/water-cooling/images/more/ex2-750sl_p0.jpg

\m/ Rich \m/
01-09-2008, 06:53 PM
jack, that looks freakin awesome. Are you running Sli?

Drools
01-09-2008, 07:09 PM
Water cooling has come a long way since I dabbled in it back in 2000/2001. I can remember making my own water block at first and using a heater core from pickup truck as the rad. I finally ended up buying a Danger Den block and some commercially made stuff but by that time my first son had arrived and spare time had run out. I still have all the parts in a box somewhere around here but they are not much good anymore with today’s hardware.
Thanks for the pictures.

filthy
01-09-2008, 08:15 PM
Ya, what are those GPU's in there?

Killswitch
01-10-2008, 10:07 AM
I'm gonna say it's a GeForce 7950 GX2.

Maryms
01-10-2008, 10:20 AM
It is his OLD setup picture with his GeForce 7950 GX2 in the picture, only difference he has a 8800 GT now.

AmdWolfman
01-10-2008, 10:41 AM
How does that work?, does it flow fasre if you have more tasks to do to move the water. damn nice

AmdWolfman
01-10-2008, 10:44 AM
look how sleek and clean it is. mine is full of smoke residue.

Killswitch
01-10-2008, 10:49 AM
That's how a gaming machine is supposed to look. High end stuff = heat sometimes. When you spend lots of money on something why wouldn't you look after it? lol
If yours is fully of stinky cigarette dust, you better clean it or you'll own a paper weight.

Killswitch
01-10-2008, 10:57 AM
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: AmdWolfMan</div><div class="ubbcode-body">How does that work?, does it flow fasre if you have more tasks to do to move the water.</div></div>
Ummmmm...... what do you mean by more tasks?

filthy
01-10-2008, 10:57 AM
So, your water cooling is in your other rig? Or that is your current rig now with an 8800GT but your too lazy to take newer pics....lol.

Maryms
01-10-2008, 11:00 AM
He too lazy /ubbthreads/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/smile.gif to take pics it same rig, just old picture with his old card is all.

Maryms
01-10-2008, 11:01 AM
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: AmdWolfMan</div><div class="ubbcode-body">How does that work?, does it flow fasre if you have more tasks to do to move the water. damn nice</div></div>


No. ... the water flow is constant as a pump pushes it around, nothing to do with tasks of anything like that, turn it on and it pumps and flows around and around.

Killswitch
01-10-2008, 11:10 AM
I thought about going with H2O. But if you choose your components wisely you can get some nice stuff that cools very well with just plain old fashion air.

As for the nice case pic, I think we should start new thread to display our toys.

I'm gonna take some new ones when I get home from work.

AmdWolfman
01-10-2008, 11:18 AM
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Killswitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: AmdWolfMan</div><div class="ubbcode-body">How does that work?, does it flow fasre if you have more tasks to do to move the water.</div></div>
Ummmmm...... what do you mean by more tasks? </div></div>



multi tasking, where the temps are gonna go up with more open programs.

Maryms
01-10-2008, 11:21 AM
I answered that already wolfman

Killswitch
01-10-2008, 11:28 AM
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: AmdWolfMan</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Killswitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: AmdWolfMan</div><div class="ubbcode-body">How does that work?, does it flow fasre if you have more tasks to do to move the water.</div></div>
Ummmmm...... what do you mean by more tasks? </div></div>
multi tasking, where the temps are gonna go up with more open programs. </div></div>
That's what I thought you meant. Definitely a no. Soonet Member's answer is correct. It's not like an engine where the water pump increases flow as the RPM's increase.

AmdWolfman
01-10-2008, 11:33 AM
killswitch, what do u get on futuremark06 OC'ed. i have rivatuner but i don't know how to use it.

Ultra54
01-10-2008, 04:03 PM
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I'm gonna say it's a GeForce 7950 GX2. </div></div>
You're are right, I'm too lazy. I spent a good bit of time routing wires and my power supply is modular and the absence of large fans and heat sinks help clean it up. The system generates alot less noise now.