PDA

View Full Version : 2 or 4 gig?



Hans
01-12-2008, 02:42 PM
Looking at a new build, so my question is, should I go with 4 gig or 2 gig memory?

G.SKILL F2-6400CL5D-4GBPQ PC2-6400 4GB 2X2GB DDR2-800 CL5-5-5-15
Crucial Ballistix PC2-8500 DDR2 2GB 2X1GB DDR2-1066 CL5-5-5-15

The 4 gig kit is 8 $ more then the 2 gig kit, but the speed is 800 versus 1066. If the speed would be identical it would be a very easy decision. But since I will overclock my new build, the speed does matter.
This is going on a Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3R ATX LGA775 Conroe P35 DDR2 1PCI-E16 3PCI-E1 with an E6750

Maryms
01-12-2008, 02:43 PM
Get 4GB KIT PC2-8000 G.skill and not 1GB x 4 .. the 4GB kit can and has many times done 1066-1100 for many users.

Hans
01-12-2008, 02:44 PM
I should add I am more then likely to stick with XP 32 bit version, although I might consider XP 64 bit, pending driver availability.

Maryms
01-12-2008, 02:45 PM
Xp will show at least 3.2GB-3.5GB out of 4GB.

General Lee
01-12-2008, 02:45 PM
G.SKILL F2-6400CL5D-4GBPQ PC2-6400 4GB 2X2GB DDR2-800 CL5-5-5-15


^
i am ordering that one on friday

Hans
01-12-2008, 02:46 PM
Are you talking about these?

G.SKILL F2-8000CL5D-4GBPQ PC2-8000 4GB 2X2GB DDR2-1000 CL5-5-5-15

I heard some people have issues with those at 1000?

Maryms
01-12-2008, 02:46 PM
Dudes buy the 1000mhz it is not much more and 1000mhz to boot. This is what i have to build in my new build very soon.

Hans
01-12-2008, 02:48 PM
I am just concerned about the 1000, because it's not an officialy supported rating. So I am wondering what memory chips they use to reach 1000?

Maryms
01-12-2008, 02:48 PM
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Hans</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Are you talking about these?

G.SKILL F2-8000CL5D-4GBPQ PC2-8000 4GB 2X2GB DDR2-1000 CL5-5-5-15

I heard some people have issues with those at 1000?</div></div>

The only issues some i heard are having is their MOBO may not support EPP settings is all and that is why many are having issues or at times like th 800mhz they may have one stick that is DOA.

Also the 800mhz don't OC as well as the 1000mhz sticks do, but yes are more compatible with mobo's that don't support EPP settings.

The 1000mhz is a EPP setting.

General Lee
01-12-2008, 02:49 PM
i do not oc so i do not care i just want 4 gigs lol

Maryms
01-12-2008, 02:51 PM
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Hans</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I am just concerned about the 1000, because it's not an officialy supported rating. So I am wondering what memory chips they use to reach 1000?</div></div>

Hand Picked 800mhz modules are used, 1000mhz is a supported rating, but if your mobo can't handle it and EPP settings then your SOL for even PC2-8500 EPP settings and or PC2-800 EPP settings. If the mobo is not compatible BIOS wise then your SOL for running more then 800mhz or maybe reach 936mhz tops on none EPP setting.

Maryms
01-12-2008, 02:52 PM
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: General Lee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">i do not oc so i do not care i just want 4 gigs lol</div></div>

Well ok in that case buy 800mhz.

Hans
01-12-2008, 03:16 PM
Ughh, this sounds ugly.

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/929777

General Lee
01-12-2008, 03:19 PM
u will need 64 bit to run 4 gigs

Killswitch
01-12-2008, 03:21 PM
I picked up two 1 x 2Gb kits of G.Skill and they're running at 914MHz with 4-4-4-12 timings. I too was debating on the faster Crutial ram but I got these ones for a killer price, both sets for under $100. I was looking at some reviews for my ram and they can reach 1100MHz with relaxed timings and more voltage, so I think your best bet to have a look around the web and see what others are doing with those 2 kits you listed. I'll bet that the Crutial ram won't clock much higher anyhow, so I'm also thinking the 4Gb kit would be the better choice.

The only thing is, overclocking with the Cruical kit will be allot easier since they are guaranteed to run at 1066MHz and you might end up pulling your hair out with the G.Skill.

Hans
01-12-2008, 03:22 PM
You can still install a 32 bit, just not use all 4 gig. I actually ended up at that KB from an ASUS FAQ that mentioned crashes when using 4 gig of memory.
It's just ugly you have to remove a stick to fix this.

Maryms
01-12-2008, 06:12 PM
Yes only some ppl get that issue on certain mobo's and what you have to do is remove one stick, install windows, put the patch in and then install the other stick and your all fine and ready to go.

filthy
01-12-2008, 11:32 PM
I don't even know why your considering any of this....

Your using Windows XP so 2GB is plenty, but if you plan on Vistasizing your PC up in the near future I would strongly suggest 4GB.

If Vista is something your not looking at for a year or two then the obvious choice is to get a solid 2GB kit of respectable name brand RAM that can OC a bit with good timings. I would suggest high end Mushkin myself.

Hans
01-13-2008, 01:31 PM
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Filthy</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I don't even know why your considering any of this....

Your using Windows XP so 2GB is plenty, but if you plan on Vistasizing your PC up in the near future I would strongly suggest 4GB.

If Vista is something your not looking at for a year or two then the obvious choice is to get a solid 2GB kit of respectable name brand RAM that can OC a bit with good timings. I would suggest high end Mushkin myself. </div></div>

I also use Linux 64 bit, so I will benefit from the extra memory. Even under XP, memory above 2 gig can be beneficial.
The difference between 2 and 4 gig kits is so low, it's almost not worth it getting a 2 gig kit.

Maryms
01-13-2008, 01:33 PM
True Hans and that is why i opted for a 4GB kit.