PDA

View Full Version : My best internet speed ever



Hans
01-26-2008, 04:40 PM
Amazing, Shaw must have opened their lines even more...

http://www.speedtest.net/result/226924283.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

binky
01-26-2008, 05:00 PM
what the heck kinda connection do you have?????

Maryms
01-26-2008, 05:08 PM
25mb is what he has.

Hans
01-26-2008, 06:35 PM
I like it, it's fun getting the ATI driver package in less then 10 seconds.

Maryms
01-26-2008, 06:45 PM
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Hans</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I like it, it's fun getting the ATI driver package in less then 10 seconds.</div></div>

I do that with my dialup connection.. lol

Shawn
01-26-2008, 10:27 PM
Too bad my connection is choked... other wise I would show you what a real internet connection looks like... Last time I tired to give it a workout my computer was too slow and could not keep up to the speeds... nor could the servers that I was testing from send out quick enough...

http://www.speedtest.net/result/227014816.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Macs II
01-27-2008, 08:18 AM
here's mine this morning

http://www.speedtest.net/result/227116380.png

Maryms
01-27-2008, 09:02 AM
How much are you paying for 25mb service or did they just up it to 25mb for FREE?

Hans
01-27-2008, 02:00 PM
It has been like this for a couple of months now. I did notice they turned it down to 10 Mbit a couple of weeks back. But, it's back up and going even faster then before.
There's no 25 Mbit service in the Sault yet, so they are all 10 Mbit connections.

Mine is a little bit slow right now.

http://www.speedtest.net/result/227216282.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Hans
01-27-2008, 02:01 PM
I think I pay something like 39.99/month for the connection. Better price and speed then the DSL I was on before...

J*B
01-27-2008, 07:21 PM
Apparently some installers leave the filter off that cuts it back.

Hans
01-27-2008, 08:46 PM
I thought it was a profile they load in your modem, that determines your speed?

tired-n-cranky
01-27-2008, 11:53 PM
It is.

Scabtacular
01-28-2008, 07:49 AM
I BEEPING GIVE UP AFTER THIS POST.....

SPEEDBOOST FOR EXTREME USERS IS FREE!!!

I no longer care what anyone wishes to add after this, its a free country, knock your assumption socks off.... I called shaw tech support directly, so in the words of Liam Lynch....

WHATEVER!!!

Scabtacular
01-28-2008, 07:56 AM
The real issue is that there will never be anything over 512Kbps or half meg a second for "uploading" under a half grand a month in my life time for any local ISP! It' great to get megs and megs of downloading, but with a ratio of almost 3megs down to 128kbps up, is Ridiculous and gone on FAR to long!!!

DSL and Satillete are even worse!!!

Hans
01-28-2008, 02:04 PM
I can upload at 1mbit/sec. I tried it yesterday with DC++ and opened up my upload speed to maximum. Average upload speed of 114 K/sec, which is 1 mbit.
As for my download speed, about 5 Mbit/sec. Depends on where you get the files from.

None of the above can be affected by speedboost, as speedboost is only for http connections and the first 10 meg of a file.

Tonight I am going to download an Linux ISO image of roughly 700 Mbyte using http. I will let you know what my speed was.

Strife
01-28-2008, 05:39 PM
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Scabtacular</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I BEEPING GIVE UP AFTER THIS POST.....

SPEEDBOOST FOR EXTREME USERS IS FREE!!!

I no longer care what anyone wishes to add after this, its a free country, knock your assumption socks off.... I called shaw tech support directly, so in the words of Liam Lynch....

WHATEVER!!!</div></div>

You should also know that it is not available for the Sault just yet.......

Macs II
01-28-2008, 08:47 PM
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I can upload at 1mbit/sec. I tried it yesterday with DC++ and opened up my upload speed to maximum. Average upload speed of 114 K/sec, which is 1 mbit. </div></div>


I use DC++ too and I get similar upload speeds.

Scabtacular
01-29-2008, 08:48 AM
Your RIGHT!!!! Speedboost doesn't even exsist!! MY BAD!!!

POWERBOOST IS HERE, I will make an .mp3 of my phone call with shaw and post it unless of course, as this is the 2nd time you've posted the same sentence, you WORK for or have evidence NOT RELATING TO SHAW's HOMEPAGE THAT IS NOT UPDATED NOR EXACT due to the fact, when entering a postal code, can't possibly cover the REAL WIRES in the ground vs. the very GENERAL database that they use from months if not years ago!!!

How many people have called say, Bell service after entering a postal code via website, and found a technician at your door already finding it working and setup ready to go!!! ME TWICE!!!

DO YOU EVEN HAVE SHAW EXTREME??????? DID YOU GO BEYOND THE WEBPAGE OF We're sorry. PowerBoost™ is currently not available in your area.?????

Scabtacular
01-29-2008, 09:00 AM
Average upload speed of 114 K/sec, which is 1 mbit.

I'm talking 512 K/sec (half meg) or higher Upload
Under a grand a month
Never EVER happening from Local ISP in our lifetimes

THE RATIO BETWEEN 114 K/sec Upload to ANY download speed period HAS NEVER BUDGED SINCE THE BEGINNING OF BROADBAND FOR OVER A DECADE!!!!

Like living in Toronto, you can get to work faster and faster every year/decades with improvement to the highway BUT going home you can only go 3mph like you see on tv during rush hour traffic!!!

Hans
01-29-2008, 11:23 AM
So you are talking about 5 Mbit/sc upload speed?

tired-n-cranky
01-29-2008, 11:46 AM
Will never happen. Not on home residential services. Every provider says running servers is not permitted, blah blah. They don't WANT you uploading.

Hans
01-29-2008, 12:42 PM
It already happened...

Hans
01-29-2008, 01:53 PM
http://www22.verizon.com/content/consumerfios/packages+and+prices/packages+and+prices.htm

tired-n-cranky
01-30-2008, 12:03 AM
I am talking in Canada, not the usa.. everyone is jealous of fios /ubbthreads/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/smile.gif

jeffster
01-30-2008, 06:46 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/228269161.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

yep...i'll stick with shaw /ubbthreads/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/smile.gif

J*B
02-02-2008, 02:07 PM
I can get a blazing download speed, of 2.5 kb/s, pretty mean huh?
Sometimes even get up to 3 kb/s!!!!

mokitapupita
02-02-2008, 07:42 PM
why does shaw lite speed just "hang" like a pair of hangers sometimes?

puppy
02-02-2008, 07:50 PM
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: stringysnot</div><div class="ubbcode-body">why does shaw lite speed just "hang" like a pair of hangers sometimes?</div></div>

maybe they have a plot against u too...lol

sorry Hans

403_forbidden
02-05-2008, 11:47 AM
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Scabtacular</div><div class="ubbcode-body">The real issue is that there will never be anything over 512Kbps or half meg a second for "uploading" under a half grand a month in my life time for any local ISP! It' great to get megs and megs of downloading, but with a ratio of almost 3megs down to 128kbps up, is Ridiculous and gone on FAR to long!!!

DSL and Satillete are even worse!!! </div></div>

The reason they don't open up the Upload pipe to resident service is to keep every Tom, [censored] and Harry from firing up an FTP server. I can't say I don't blame them for limiting upload speeds. Most WAN activity in residental services is downloading; surfing the web, downloading email and files etc.

Shawn
02-05-2008, 01:01 PM
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: There's no Place Like 127.0.0.1</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Scabtacular</div><div class="ubbcode-body">The real issue is that there will never be anything over 512Kbps or half meg a second for "uploading" under a half grand a month in my life time for any local ISP! It' great to get megs and megs of downloading, but with a ratio of almost 3megs down to 128kbps up, is Ridiculous and gone on FAR to long!!!

DSL and Satillete are even worse!!! </div></div>

The reason they don't open up the Upload pipe to resident service is to keep every Tom, [censored] and Harry from firing up an FTP server. I can't say I don't blame them for limiting upload speeds. Most WAN activity in residental services is downloading; surfing the web, downloading email and files etc. </div></div>

The other reason too is some technologies are designed to have less spectrum for the upload... In the case of cable the upload spectrum makes up far less in the cable line then the download does, thus why you only see a meg or so upload, but with docsis 3 up to about 150Mbps down... Only way you will see higher speeds on the up is if they increase the channel spectrum. Here is a link so you can see what I mean

http://computer.howstuffworks.com/cable-modem1.htm