PDA

View Full Version : ADSL MOdem



Big Guy
05-05-2008, 10:40 AM
Any deals on adsl modems? I note that Teksavvy wants $99 for theirs

mr ed
05-16-2008, 06:03 PM
I just brought one to the cla recyclin g place off of bruce st. it was a speedstream usb one they probly still have it there. never used still in the box

Shawn
05-16-2008, 10:11 PM
Here is a good modem at a good price. Its ADSL2+ as well... we use the single port version of these and they work really well. If I had to buy a modem I would buy one of these.

http://cgi.ebay.ca/Zhone-6212-4-Port-Rou...bayphotohosting (http://cgi.ebay.ca/Zhone-6212-4-Port-Router_W0QQitemZ380028263489QQihZ025QQcategoryZ449 97QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem#ebayphotoh osting)

axalon2003
05-16-2008, 10:37 PM
I'm on my second dsl modem now and am starting to get disconnects again. I had my original modem replaced about 4 months ago due to frequent disconnects. It worked fine until about 2 weeks ago, when I started running into the same issue again. I've had the phone lines checked for noise, and they checked out great. My modem was replaced with an identcal model. Do you think I should get a new modem (like this one) or go for a replacement again through my ISP?

Andre
05-17-2008, 03:42 AM
Try one of these
2Wire 2700HG-B modem/4 port router/WiFi
http://www.caneris.com/MdmFAQ
$25 + tax and $10 shipping

Mine works great and I've heard of a lot of people quite happy with them as well. Especially if you are on a marginal line.

tired-n-cranky
05-17-2008, 12:33 PM
I would recommend either the 2Wire 2700HG-B as Andre pointed out, I have three of those. Wifi built in. 4 port switch built in.

OR..

I also use the Speedtouch 516v6, same as Teksavvy uses, but they can be found online for around $50. They are nice because of all the management you can do of them. No Wifi like the 2Wire though, and single network port.

Shawn
05-17-2008, 11:25 PM
I have right beside me the speedstream 5260, the speedtouch 516 and the Zhone 6211 modems. All I would say are decent modems.

I have dealt with these modems in the field and after testing on lots of lines over the years my preference is zhone hands down when it comes to helping issues like disconnects. The results I got from all three of these modems tonight are

speedstream
speed 5056/800kbps, relative capacity of 54/85%, noise of 25/8dB.

speedtouch
speed 5056/800kbps, relative capacity of 48/85%, noise of 29/9dB.

Zhone
speed 5056/800kbps, relative capacity of 48/84%, noise of 30/11dB.

Basically for relative capacity the lower the numbers the better, for the noise, the higher the number the better. In this case testing on my line with all 3 modems on the exact same setup, the zhone scored the best, speedtouch second best, and speedstream 3rd.

Usually if I have had customer with noise and capacity issues if I had say a speedtouch on there, and changed to a zhone, the relative capacity would drop by as much as 10%. From experience the zhone is just better at clearing up line noise issues which cause disconnects...

Basically the lower you can get the capacity the the higher you get the noise numbers the more solid the connection will generally be.

tired-n-cranky
05-18-2008, 12:13 AM
Here is my line stats with my ST516.. quite nice I might add...

http://img186.imageshack.us/img186/9685/dmt200805172311bx3.png

PrairieDog43
07-09-2008, 07:52 AM
NeTDaWg...

What is that program? (Here is my line stats with my ST516.. quite nice I might add...)

Can I download it?

I hooked up to an ISP, and I would like that program, just to see how my modem is doing.

jeffster
07-09-2008, 09:57 AM
DMT Dsl Modem Tool

http://dmt.mhilfe.de/

product is freeware, and available for download on the site i posted the link for

Andre
07-09-2008, 10:06 AM
It's all in German but after you download it, the first time you run it, it should show up in English

tired-n-cranky
07-10-2008, 03:50 PM
Yup it is DMT. Works with a wide range of ADSL modems.

PrairieDog43
07-10-2008, 05:17 PM
Doesn't work for my modem... OvisLink

PrairieDog43
08-11-2008, 02:45 PM
Doesn't work for 2Wire either.

Andre
08-11-2008, 03:31 PM
PrairieDog43
The 2wire has it's own software if you want to check your line stats.
Use your browser to login to your modem http://gateway.2wire.net/
Where it says "Broadband Link" click "View Summary" then click
"View connection details"

PrairieDog43
08-12-2008, 01:13 AM
Is it good?


DSL Line (Wire Pair): Line 1 (inner pair)
Protocol: G.DMT Annex A
Downstream Rate: 5056 kbps
Upstream Rate: 800 kbps
Channel: Fast
Current Noise Margin: 22.0 dB (Downstream), 16.0 dB (Upstream)
Current Attenuation: 33.5 dB (Downstream), 20.0 dB (Upstream)
Current Output Power: 19.6 dBm (Downstream), 11.9 dBm (Upstream)
DSLAM Vendor Information: Country: {0x0F} Vendor: {ALCB} Specific: {0x00}
PVC Info: 0/35

Andre
08-12-2008, 03:37 AM
Yup, almost identical to mine.
Line 1 (inner pair)
Protocol: G.DMT Annex A
Downstream Rate: 5056 kbps
Upstream Rate: 800 kbps
Channel: Fast
Current Noise Margin: 20.0 dB (Downstream), 13.0 dB (Upstream)
Current Attenuation: 34.1 dB (Downstream), 20.0 dB (Upstream)
Current Output Power: 19.6 dBm (Downstream), 11.9 dBm (Upstream)

PrairieDog43
09-19-2008, 02:29 AM
That 2Wire has screwed up. It won't hook up with my DSL line. I called the company and they're gonna send me a Netopia modem, the 3347, the wireless one. It will cost me $15... don't know about shipping.

Andre
09-19-2008, 08:32 AM
What a bad piece of luck. Mine two are still working fine.

tired-n-cranky
09-22-2008, 04:11 PM
The Netopias are great. I just bought two of the 3346 non-wifi ones, and a 3347 wifi one.

I got them from Caneris, the 3346 were $24 each, and the 3347 Wifi was $40.

PrairieDog43
10-04-2008, 07:15 PM
On Monday or Tuesday, I am expecting my new Netopia modem, the 3347. For a mere $15.00

tired-n-cranky
10-04-2008, 10:38 PM
The 3347 is a nice decent modem.

It even allows you to have up to 4 "virtual" wireless networks so if you wanted to have temp ones etc for visitors, and so on. Different encryption on each one too.