PDA

View Full Version : Firefox 3 RC 1



filthy
05-20-2008, 02:15 AM
http://www.mozilla.com/en-US/firefox/all-beta.html

Flawless Disaster
05-20-2008, 02:54 AM
So far I like it. I uninstalled FF 2.0 and installed FF 3.0 RC1 and it has improved dramatically for me. I used to have to wait atleast 5 secs for firefox to initially load up. Now it loads up in a blink of an eye.

filthy
05-20-2008, 03:44 PM
Yes so far it's mint.

Shawn
05-20-2008, 11:03 PM
Ya, FF3 is using a new database from what I have heard making things much quicker. Kind of funny how they said months ago there would be no FF3 and here it is...

Hans
05-21-2008, 06:14 PM
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Flawless Disaster</div><div class="ubbcode-body">So far I like it. I uninstalled FF 2.0 and installed FF 3.0 RC1 and it has improved dramatically for me. I used to have to wait atleast 5 secs for firefox to initially load up. Now it loads up in a blink of an eye. </div></div>

That's because it disables all addons, which is causing much faster initial load times.
While it looks good, I am going to switch back so I can have my addons back.

filthy
05-21-2008, 06:18 PM
All of my add-ons work, except AVG Safe Search which I don't need as I'm not a Pron guy...lol.

Hans
05-21-2008, 06:19 PM
Found a beta for foxmarks, I am happy now. Can't be without that handy dandy program.

\m/ Rich \m/
05-21-2008, 07:00 PM
Cooliris and piclens are my only 2 addons that dont work

Flawless Disaster
05-21-2008, 09:15 PM
One thing that I noticed is that there is no scroll bar.

Flawless Disaster
06-03-2008, 02:43 AM
Well I finally gave up and reinstalled FF 2. Although most of my addons worked (the ones that didnt work werent too important anyways), the loss of the scrollbar to the right was a big problem for me. I use a trackball mouse and I am used to using that scrollbar often. Also there were a few glitches in the download manager. It wouldnt show the file you are downloading. In any case, I will wait until RC2 comes out or a final release before upgrading.

On a positive note, it was significantly faster than FF2 when loading up and also my mem usage went down. Hopefully this caries over into the final release.

RuMoR
06-03-2008, 08:20 AM
My theme doesn't work, that's horrible!