PDA

View Full Version : Folding @ Home



Killswitch
08-03-2008, 11:10 PM
http://folding.stanford.edu/English/Main

Just wondering who else around here (besides Mboy /ubbthreads/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/smile.gif ) is adding to the cause? I've never bothered to really look into it but I think it's about time I did. lol

Maybe we could start a Soonet Folding @ Home Team? I'm not sure how to post official scores and what not yet. But anyone with a monster video card, a PS3, or any old PC not doing much of anything else can get in on this.

Any thoughts from anyone who might actually give a $hit about helping to fight disease?

mboy67
08-04-2008, 12:22 AM
OK I made US a team # 141140

http://fah-web.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/main.py?qtype=teampage&teamnum=141140

Any client program can contribute to the statistics for this team by putting the number 141140 in the team field in the client

I will put one of my clients to this team. I'm staying in my original team since I'm one of it's top folders.

Here is my current score and world standing. http://fah-web.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/main.py?qtype=userpage&username=mboy67

Killswitch
08-04-2008, 12:40 AM
Sweet! Thanks dude. I'm in.

filthy
08-04-2008, 04:11 AM
Well I was using my PS3 with the EVGA team, but I'll start using my HTPC with this one to do more...I have a very direct interest in this.

DeleteAccout
08-04-2008, 06:46 AM
WTF is folding? lol

mboy67
08-04-2008, 10:49 AM
Hey killswitch are you having a problem getting the clients working right. let me know if you need help.

mboy67
08-04-2008, 10:51 AM
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tormented Soul</div><div class="ubbcode-body">WTF is folding? lol</div></div> just go to the home page and read it. it explains it.

dancingqueen
08-04-2008, 11:09 AM
It looks like something similar to the "Seti @ Home" thing basicly it ran from your screen saver to co-operate with other computers in looking for ET life. (I think anyways /ubbthreads/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/smirk.gif )

filthy
08-04-2008, 12:13 PM
This one is about protein folding, because if we can figure it out, it may help us to find cures for many diseases.

Killswitch
08-04-2008, 02:09 PM
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: mboy67</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Hey killswitch are you having a problem getting the clients working right. let me know if you need help. </div></div>

I had it running last night for a while, but after sticking my hand around the back of the case I noticed that only one card was working since there was no heat pouring from the bottom one. I tried getting the second one to work, but now I somehow lost all the progress I had on my first WU! /ubbthreads/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/frown.gif

This is what I did. http://folding.stanford.edu/English/FAQ-ATI2#ntoc17

and this...... http://folding.stanford.edu/English/FAQ-ATI2#ntoc32

Killswitch
08-04-2008, 02:31 PM
Nevermind, I guess the first WU did finish. lol

Killswitch
08-04-2008, 02:55 PM
Ok, I figured it out. I needed a second display to have both cards working.

mboy67
08-04-2008, 03:08 PM
yes plus make sure crossfire is disabled.

mboy67
08-04-2008, 06:13 PM
hey Killswitch I think you still have a problem your not getting any points.

Killswitch
08-04-2008, 06:47 PM
Yeah I see that. What could be the problem there?

mboy67
08-04-2008, 08:22 PM
show your logs

mboy67
08-04-2008, 08:42 PM
I just finished helping another member get the GPU working and we are now setting up a SMP client.

Hans
08-04-2008, 08:56 PM
Don't forget to post here me when you have found an alien!

Madmax
08-04-2008, 08:57 PM
I fixed the CPU problem .... Io Error = the SMP program ... not sure what happened. Its a [censored] to get going at first..... lol

As for GPU .. i had that wokring prior to mboy67 staing to download another program.

Problem is i have like 24 WU ... no points.... WTF.

Killswitch
08-04-2008, 09:03 PM
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Hans</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Don't forget to post here me when you have found an alien! </div></div>
Wow are you ever funny.

Killswitch
08-04-2008, 09:04 PM
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: mboy67</div><div class="ubbcode-body">show your logs
</div></div>
I see a few that say early end units....... I'll let it run for a bit more and see what happens.

Madmax
08-04-2008, 09:29 PM
Killswitch PM me your tele and i call u and mboy is on my line right now ... i'll do a three way call.

You need to do a few things and get right clients downloaded.

mboy67
08-04-2008, 09:29 PM
OK what client you running and what windows do you have

Killswitch
08-04-2008, 09:48 PM
I am running Vista 64 bit and V6 GPU2 from this link: http://folding.stanford.edu/English/DownloadWinOther

Crossfire is disabled, I have one LCD connected to each card with my desktop extended. I'm using ATI overdrive to monitor GPU usage and temps so I know both cards are running. Task Manger shows my CPU usage for both cores at 100% too.

I made a second folder under ..... appdata\roaming\..... and double checked my shortcuts.

Madmax
08-04-2008, 10:03 PM
You have to enable the Secret Vista Administrator account and do things before even running the CPU SMP client.... to hard to explain all here.... so PM me telephone number.


GET THESE ONES...... we all running 64-bit Vista.

Get this one for CPU.

Windows XP/2003/Vista/2008 SMP client console version 6.22 beta2 for MPICH (32-bit or 64-bit)

AND this for GPU:

Windows Vista GPU Console client (note running as a service does not work in Vista). Uninstall any existing FAH services made with pre 6.20 clients before updating. 6.20

DELETE any Existing Folders and installs you have already out on PC for this client before using the ones i stated above.

ALL IS WORKING NOW FOR ME AND MBOY67 NOW, but somethings have to be done in Vista first before running the SMP client and when you run it for first time.... certain settings have to be used to ensure proper usage is used for the GPU and Cores.

mboy67
08-04-2008, 10:07 PM
Make sure it's this one http://www.stanford.edu/group/pandegroup/folding/release/Folding@home-Win32-GPU_Vista-620.zip

and you don't need the admin account for the GPU's just for the SMP client.

Madmax
08-04-2008, 10:15 PM
Go to this page and download what i stated or the one mboy linked to is the right GPU one which i already stated in my previous post to get.

http://folding.stanford.edu/English/DownloadWinOther

Get this one for CPU.

Windows XP/2003/Vista/2008 SMP client console version 6.22 beta2 for MPICH (32-bit or 64-bit)

AND this for GPU:

Windows Vista GPU Console client (note running as a service does not work in Vista). Uninstall any existing FAH services made with pre 6.20 clients before updating. 6.20

Killswitch
08-04-2008, 10:18 PM
All ready there and downloaded guys /ubbthreads/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/smile.gif ......

Madmax
08-04-2008, 10:19 PM
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Killswitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body">All ready there and downloaded guys /ubbthreads/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/smile.gif ......</div></div>

Yeah but you need to do the Admin thing for the CPU before running the install for it ... you need to activate the secret admin account and run the intstall windows batch file in that account ...... then log off and switch back to your admin user account and then install the client.


If confused PM telephone number.

mboy67
08-04-2008, 10:21 PM
Being that you have a dual core CPU just set up the two GPU clients. Each Client needs a CPU core.

Killswitch
08-04-2008, 10:58 PM
Will do, the install.bat file kept saying it was unable to connect anyhow after I enter a password. Yes I unlocked the secret admin account yada yada, I followed the readme file but no go......... man this a pain! lol

Madmax
08-04-2008, 11:09 PM
Ok dude .. forget about doing the CPU for now (as it is a bit to get working and it is best to yap on telephone to do it right) ..... for now just load up the GPU client twice .. make two folders and make one client machine ID 1 and the other Machine ID 2 when you load up the client the first time pay attention to the Machine ID and change accordingly.

Your GPU's should produce more points then 1 x gpu and 1 x cpu or even more then 2 x cpu cores your running.

Basically 2 x cores will score less points then your 2 x cards.

Just to add i am running on 3 cores for CPU and 1 core is dedicated to my GPU and the GPU is going to score more points right now then my 3 cores of CPU power, but i running the CPU's at 75% usage and the GPU at 100% for now as temps . me no like yet and i waiting for new heatsink to arrive i hope this week.

If i had the CPU's at 100% i may score a little bit more Points Per Day or similar points ... then my 1 x GPU.

Killswitch
08-04-2008, 11:29 PM
I have both cards running now with that other client. I might let it run all night and see how it made out before I head to work in the morning.

My cpu is currently at 100% on each core with a temp of 48*C, and each card is working at around 50% with temps of 60*C each.

Madmax
08-04-2008, 11:36 PM
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Killswitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I have both cards running now with that other client. I might let it run all night and see how it made out before I head to work in the morning.

My cpu is currently at 100% on each core with a temp of 48*C, and each card is working at around 50% with temps of 60*C each.</div></div>

The 2 x gpu's should score around 3000 points per day. Not sure sure why GPU's are only at 50% each as mine is running 88% to 98% most of the time at around 94-98% usage ... Card temp is 63C right now.

All my CPU cores are at 75% for 3 and 100% for the GPU dedicated one = 94% over all usage for all cores combined.

Did you .. when you setup clients leave the CPU percentane 100%?

If not then that could be the reson why they are running at only 50% each. Then again maybe it better as your temp is 60C on them already and at 100% . that maybe push the temp on them to 84C.

I just finished one full round on the GPU = 1 WU sucessful, but the CPU folding will take at least 2 days to get a FULL WU.

The team folding page shows 24 WU, but that is 24 WU failed cause i had same issues as you did .. /ubbthreads/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/smile.gif

Soon it will update to a score of around 192 and show 25 WU for my name... /ubbthreads/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/smile.gif


Just to add again you can't run the SMP on CPU and also the GPU clients on your setup all at once ....... cause each GPU takes up 1 CPU core to run.


I am sure there is a way to split it all up, but why .. when the 2 x gpu's will produce more then your 2 cpu cores.

Get a quad-core and you will be able to do more folding without loading system to the tilt.

Killswitch
08-04-2008, 11:58 PM
I left all the config stuff at default settings other then the machine id's. Either way, things are working the same as they were with the other client. I just hope I get some points this time /ubbthreads/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/smile.gif .

As for a quad I'm thinking about buying a 9950, but I think I'm going to hold out for the 45nm Deneb AM3's which should be out in the fall.

BTW Max, your score is now 192.

mboy67
08-04-2008, 11:59 PM
Just so you know some older motherboards can't do 2 GPU's as well as newer boards. there is a communication slow down with PCI-E 1.0 slots. When I use to fold with my 1900 cards before they discontinued folding on them one card got 700 PPD and two cards just over 1000. I ended up moving one to another machine to get better production from them.

Madmax
08-05-2008, 12:05 AM
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Killswitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I left all the config stuff at default settings other then the machine id's. Either way, things are working the same as they were with the other client. I just hope I get some points this time /ubbthreads/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/smile.gif .

As for a quad I'm thinking about buying a 9950, but I think I'm going to hold out for the 45nm Deneb AM3's which should be out in the fall.

BTW Max, your score is now 192.</div></div>

Yeah i know it 192 x that by 24rs (well not by 24 as that WAY incorrect as the points are only showing me 1455.16 per 24 hrs) ..... i posted 1500 previously in error ... as that is a per 24 hr points i would get if i run 24/7, but i corrected that.

You may only get 2000 per day 24/7 with both of your cards running, But mboy67 will get around 3000 per day if he runs both of his cards 24/7.

Yeah older mobo's may not talk to each other like the newer chipset mobo's so that can be a limiting factor in GPU percentage usage on your cards.

Getting a quad-core 45nm will be nice for future folding for sure.


My mobo has 3 PCI-E slots... imagine 3 4850's or 1 x 4870X2 and my 4850 .... folding ..... yeeeehhhh hawwwww.

Madmax
08-05-2008, 12:12 AM
Hey go download this program as it will monitor the clients and time left to do em in and what time they want them done as you will not get any points if you don't finish in the required deadline.

Download it and install it, then open it up and right click in the BOX and add client .. go to your client folder(s) and add each of them, name them whatever you wish... GPU 1 - GPU 2 ssmfolding or whatever.

Oh it also tells you points you get per 24hrs and credits per cycle.

http://fahmon.net/

mboy67
08-05-2008, 12:21 AM
Yes I forgot to tell you and others like I told MadMax about it. I use it for all mine it lets me monitor all my clients on my network from one machine. If there is a problem then I go fix it. It's much better then several times a day going to each machine to check on them.

Killswitch
08-05-2008, 12:25 AM
Already had that too. lol

Sorry, I guess I should have posted that.

mboy67
08-05-2008, 12:35 AM
Good lets hope it's working for you now.

Madmax
08-05-2008, 01:08 AM
When i folded (a little bit) 4-5 years ago there was another program out like that Fahmon ( i can't recall the name of it) and i liked it too as it did a similar thing, so it nothing really knew to me, just it is a newer program that shows a little more then the program i used 4-5 years ago.

I would have searched the net for a newer one anyways, but it was a lot easier when mboy67 told me about it as that saved me from googling it.

Killswitch
08-05-2008, 11:43 PM
Finally, I'm on the score board! lol

mboy67
08-06-2008, 12:53 PM
glad to see that. What is FanMon giving you for PPD for each card.

Killswitch
08-06-2008, 05:03 PM
Around 1200 each.

mboy67
08-06-2008, 11:51 PM
Hey filthy looks like your turning out bad units like the others did. what client are you running.

filthy
08-07-2008, 12:35 AM
Yes I'm on the board!! lolz.

Using one GPU only, not keeping another monitor setup on my desk just for this.

filthy
08-07-2008, 12:37 AM
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: mboy67</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Hey filthy looks like your turning out bad units like the others did. what client are you running. </div></div>

No I just was using another client and team#. Had Killswitch help me setup this one tonight. So far PPD is 5057.56 for one GPU.

Madmax
08-07-2008, 11:08 AM
I can't wait until they make a better client to fold better on the 4800 series ... as of right now they are only using about 1/4 (if that) of their potential.

filthy
08-07-2008, 12:16 PM
ATI is on board with FAH, shouldn't be too far off.

Madmax
08-07-2008, 12:19 PM
Yeah i heard maybe in a week or sor they will optimize it for usage on all 800 shaders. I am not sure how it all works, but thats what i read is the shaders are not optimized as of yet for 4800 series and folding.

filthy
08-07-2008, 12:46 PM
Well my PPD now is 5300 for one G92 GTS.

mboy67
08-07-2008, 12:54 PM
yes they are nice folders

Madmax
08-07-2008, 01:48 PM
My gpu right now bounces PPD from 1588-1573-1544 depends on load on GPU.. 1 x 4850 i am running it at stock as i hear many OC'ed cards may cause issues for folding so i trying at stock speeds for now.

Project 4731

CPU PPD right now is around 1004.16 - 996 depends on load on CPU ... Q6600 @ 3.4ghz. (for now)

Project 2665

I have FahMon setting set to every 3 frames.

Madmax
08-07-2008, 02:05 PM
I like to note for those who want to jump onboard.

Folding will increase temperatures of the CPU and/or GPU if GPU is being used to fold.

PPL should post system specs in order for us to state whether or not you should be folding with your PC.

I hate to see someone without good cooling fry a componet out.

So basically if you have a HIGH-END system .. you should already have good cooling, but some HIGH-END pc's on the market don't have adequate cooling.

If you have a low-end PC then better cooling is needed/recommended based upon the Build already.

filthy
08-07-2008, 03:41 PM
I just put my fan up to 60% and its matching idle temps.

Madmax
08-07-2008, 03:44 PM
Yeah i raised mine to around 70% on GPU and it runs at 60C-63C 98% loaded on it.

filthy
08-07-2008, 04:15 PM
GPU that is folding is @ 51*C.

Madmax
08-07-2008, 06:52 PM
Yeah right now i checked it and GPU is at 55C now it fluctuates like all will do so to about 60-63C, yours should go up here and there to 56C maybe.

Right now GPU PPD is 1296 and CPU is 1708 woot woot.

Now i have my new Heatsink and Fan installed i have CPU at 100% instead of 75% what a difference is PPD now.

Temps are about 10-12C lower with new heatsink and fan, plus arctic silver 5 and thats (AS5) not even broke in yet.

CPU averages 45C full load and one core peaks 52C at times, fluctuates from 43-52C.. before it would peak 63C and average 57C.

Idle is around 29C .. woot and before it was 35-36C.

Awesome sink so far and when AS5 breaks in about 3-5 days i hope it drops 3-5C more.

Oh and i am 3.4ghz still, but will try 3.6ghz again as i have new heatsinka and fan installed ... Heat should spike maybe 53C-55C tops at 3.6ghz depends on Volts too.

So as long as i stay 60 or under its ok. well even 63C not bad, but with Ninja REV B forget it at 3.6ghz temps were 65C-70C and peaked around 75C.

Killswitch
08-07-2008, 09:39 PM
My 2 cards get around 1200 PPD each running with a 50% load and topping out at about 60*C. I'm not sure what my fan speeds are at because I flashed both cards with my own bios which I edited to ramp up the fan speeds alot with small temp increases.

Madmax
08-07-2008, 10:56 PM
PPD will fluctuate right now GPU is 1394 and CPU is 1116 it will go up and down depends on the usuage needed by the folding client.

So no one can state 100% what PPD will be all the time as different projects will give more or less PPD.

filthy
08-08-2008, 09:12 AM
C'mon people, if you can help, please do.

Let's get our Soonet team in the top 10,000.

mboy67
08-24-2008, 12:04 PM
Lets welcome Hans to the team and we can still use more and please keep active.

Hans
08-24-2008, 12:12 PM
Can you combine more then 1 pc under the same user name?

mboy67
08-24-2008, 12:16 PM
yes i have 14 lol

Madmax
08-24-2008, 12:26 PM
I am folding for another team now.... /ubbthreads/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/smile.gif

Maybe one day i will fold for soonet again.

Hans
08-24-2008, 12:27 PM
My gpu folding has issues, so I am using cpu folding now. Guess I have to change my user name.

mboy67
08-24-2008, 12:39 PM
what are your issues Maybe I can help

Hans
08-24-2008, 01:13 PM
Some kind of error, so it pauses for 24 hours. I read on the forums certain Nvidia drivers do not work well with the gpu client.

mboy67
08-24-2008, 01:24 PM
OK it's nothing to worry about I get that on some of mine as well. If your restart the PC everything is fine for a while. Also what driver are you using for the Card. I have found that that is also a issue. I Have 10 Nvidia GPU's currently folding and have found that different card fold better with a different driver. I have a 9600GT as well in my bunch so far the driver it likes the best is the 177.83 Power Pack driver and some of my GPU's work better with the 174.53 Cuda Driver.

Here is the Power Pack Driver Page http://www.nvidia.com/content/forcewithin/us/download.asp

Hans
08-24-2008, 02:32 PM
I use 175.19. It's not my intention to use this system for folding, I was just testing it out. I am going to use my server for 24/7 folding.

Hans
08-24-2008, 02:35 PM
Where did you come up with that driver btw? I thought 175.19 was the latest WHQL?

mboy67
08-24-2008, 02:42 PM
the 175.19 driver is not to be used for folding it dos not Have full Cuda support. You need to use either the Cuda drivers or the Power pack driver as it has full Cuda support. I have tested all the supported drivers with Games and folding and the Power Pack seem to serve best for both. My son Has a 8800GT and it folds 24/7 and he Games on it when he's here with the power Pack driver. All this info is at the folding forums.

Winman99
04-01-2009, 07:05 PM
I had to edit my post. I thought the folding team died. It's just not a big team. Maybe it's like the straw that broke the camel's back though. The one protein that gets folded by someone on this team could be the cure for cancer.
I'm happy with my current team, but soonet is local, and was considering changing.

Shawn
04-01-2009, 09:39 PM
I am the only one on it right now, but I am racking up the points, have several computers working on it and the PS3 is killing them all...lol

Cruel_Intentions
04-02-2009, 04:27 PM
I was folding for Soonet.ca a while ago, but didn't reinstall the client after formatting. I'm back on now tho (Forsaken503) and have a question.

I have an E4300 overclocked from 1.8 to 3.15Ghz and F@H is currently running at 50% CPU usage (I'd assume only on 1 core). Is there any way to get it to take full advantage of both cores?

mboy67
04-02-2009, 09:07 PM
what program are you using. you need to use the SMP one but you need to set a flag for multi core or it will only run on one.

Cruel_Intentions
04-03-2009, 08:27 PM
okay, I downloaded the SMP console version and am using FAHMON to track progress easily. Right now it's sitting @ 1638 PPD. All you needed to do was mention 'SMP' lol

mboy67
04-03-2009, 09:49 PM
i stopped using fahmon long time ago it's still too buggy. I use fahspy.

Cruel_Intentions
04-04-2009, 01:02 AM
ahh, your right, Fahspy is alot better. I'll switch to it for now.

Just curious, what's everyone getting for PPD for a single system?

filthy
04-04-2009, 10:57 AM
I was getting 6400+PPD with my GTX 260 Core 216 Superclocked. I just got another one after a $180 off sale and can't wait to run em both.

Whenever Arctic Cooling gets the coolers for these puppies out, the PPD is going up! lol.
Said they were supposedly out in March, but April 2nd and still no show.

mboy67
04-04-2009, 12:35 PM
PPD on a single system depends on what's inside.
my one box with a AMD tri core CPU and 3 9800GT's gets 13000 average but that changes with different projects, the others very as well .

Cruel_Intentions
04-04-2009, 04:42 PM
I know PPD is heavily dependant on the components, I was just wondering what others were getting

mboy67
04-18-2009, 02:29 PM
The science behind Folding@home


What are proteins?

Proteins are necklaces of amino acids --- long chain molecules. Proteins are the basis of how biology gets things done. As enzymes, they are the driving force behind all of the biochemical reactions which make biology work. As structural elements, they are the main constituent of our bones, muscles, hair, skin and blood vessels. As antibodies, they recognize invading elements and allow the immune system to get rid of the unwanted invaders. For these reasons, scientists have sequenced the human genome -- the blueprint for all of the proteins in biology -- but how can we understand what these proteins do and how they work?


Why do proteins "fold"?

However, only knowing this sequence tells us little about what the protein does and how it does it. In order to carry out their function (eg as enzymes or antibodies), they must take on a particular shape, also known as a "fold." Thus, proteins are truly amazing machines: before they do their work, they assemble themselves! This self-assembly is called "folding." One of our project goals is to simulate protein folding in order to understand how proteins fold so quickly and reliably, and to learn about what happens when this process goes awry (when proteins misfold).


Protein folding and disease: BSE (Mad Cow), Alzheimer's, Huntington's, ...

What happens if proteins don't fold correctly? Diseases such as Alzheimer's disease, cystic fibrosis, BSE (Mad Cow disease), an inherited form of emphysema, and even many cancers are believed to result from protein misfolding. When proteins misfold, they can clump together ("aggregate"). These clumps can often gather in the brain, where they are believed to cause the symptoms of Mad Cow or Alzheimer's disease.


Why is protein folding so difficult to understand?

It's amazing that not only do proteins self-assemble -- fold -- but they do so amazingly quickly: some as fast as a millionth of a second. While this time is very fast on a person's timescale, it's remarkably long for computers to simulate. In fact, it takes about a day to simulate a nanosecond (1/1,000,000,000 of a second). Unfortunately, proteins fold on the tens of microsecond timescale (10,000 nanoseconds). Thus, it would take 10,000 CPU days to simulate folding -- i.e. it would take 30 CPU years! That's a long time to wait for one result!


Our solution: Use new distributed computing algorithms to simulate what wouldn't be possible before

Our group has developed multiple new ways to simulate protein folding which can break the fundamental barrier of simulating experimental timescales by dividing the work between multiple processors in a new way -- with a near linear speed up in the number of processors. Thus, with power of Folding@Home (over 100,000 processors), we have successfully smashed the microsecond barrier, simulating milliseconds of folding time and helped to unlock the mystery of how proteins fold.


What have we done so far and where are we going?

Folding@Home has been a success. In 2000-2001, we have folded several small, fast folding proteins, with experimental validation of our method. We are now working to further develop our method, and to apply it to more complex and interesting proteins and protein folding and misfolding questions. Since then (2002-2006), Folding@Home has studied more complex proteins, reporting on the folding of many proteins on the microsecond timescale, including BBA5, the villin headpiece, Trp Cage, among others.

More recently (2006-present), we have been putting a great deal of effort into studying proteins relevant for diseases, such as Alzheimer's and Hunntington's Disease. You can learn more about our results and peer-reviewed scientific achievements on our Papers Page.


How can I learn more about how Folding@home works and what Folding@home has done so far?

A good place to start to learn about some of our success with Folding@Home as well as how Folding@Home works is with some of our recent papers or recent press accounts of our work. Also, please check out our FAQ and in particular, our page on the diseases and biomedical questions we are studying.