PDA

View Full Version : a eulogy to my car.

Giggle Squirt
12-07-2008, 08:19 PM
You were a 1995 dove grey hyundai sonata, and I was a college student with a driver’s license. It wasn’t exactly love at first sight, but eventually all the pieces came together and we created an everlasting bond that lasted throughout the whole five yearsI owned you, before your untimely death. I’ll never forget the good times we had, whether it was stalling out on the middle of the highway, or that time I couldn’t get your defroster to shut off and I almost suffered 3rd degree burns.

When we were introduced, the first thing I said was, “You mean I have to drive that piece of ****?”. It was an unusually warm month of November and you were sitting in the back of a used car lot. You smelled like urine. When I remarked upon this to the salesman, he told me that he “didn’t smell the urine”, which I picked up as an immediate lie. My father bought you for me that day, not because he liked you, but simply because you were the cheapest car. I’ll never forget when my father jokingly asked his friends, “Will she survive on the trip home?”, and they ambiguously replied, “Probably…”

When people asked me what car I drove, I would tell them that you were sonata. I was ashamed of you at first; I mean who wouldn’t be when you live where I live. In Sault Ste.Marie every fifth car you see on the road will be a red SUV; driving an old Sonta in sault ste marie is like sneaking into the zoo and f**king a zebra. Not only do you get tons of confused looks, but at some point a cop will come up to you and ask, “What the hell do you think you’re doing with that?”.