PDA

View Full Version : Windows XP allowed to live again



Ultra54
12-22-2008, 08:51 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/technology/7795302.stm

Hans
12-23-2008, 04:24 PM
Have not seen 1 machine with Vista at work. All of them are XP Pro or Unix based. However, due to switching to 4 gig of memory I am now forced into Vista64. I do have to say it's not that bad with 4 gig. It was bad with 2 gig.

Ultra54
12-27-2008, 12:21 PM
Can anyone answer what Vista does better than XP pro? Is it good that you have to go to 4 gig of ram to get decent performance?

Hans
12-27-2008, 01:32 PM
Xp Pro can not handle 4 gig of memory, Vista 64 can.

Upper Decker
12-27-2008, 04:25 PM
i thought xp 64 could run 4gb of ram. the problem with 32 bit operating systems was a 4gb memory address space with is all memory in the computer was totalled together. This is eerily reminiscent of people refusing to adopt a new OS after 98 came out. I just installed windows 7 beta 1 and its hands down better than vista so far. Network file transfers arent brutally crippled anymore.

Hans
12-27-2008, 06:25 PM
Xp 64 can indeed address 4 Gb of ram, but good luck trying to find a copy of it.

Upper Decker
12-27-2008, 06:34 PM
you cant transfer the 32 bit licence to 64 anymore? or have i not been paying attention in a long time. i stopped caring about xp a long long time ago lol

Hans
12-27-2008, 08:22 PM
I don't believe you can purchase XP anymore as a retail version. The 64 bit version was always hard to come by, and driver support was not all that great.

Upper Decker
12-27-2008, 08:46 PM
Can anyone answer what Vista does better than XP pro? Is it good that you have to go to 4 gig of ram to get decent performance?

Both laptops here have vista ultimate on them with 2gb of ram and they fly, The macbook plays almost every game out there so far at decent settings with a good framerate. My experiance with vista has been a good one. My only beef with vista was brutally crippling file transfering whether its a location to location transfer on the same drive or over the network it sucks.

B.David
12-31-2008, 04:04 PM
I use Vista Home Premium on my desktop here and I've had 0 issues with it.