PDA

View Full Version : H1N1 Vaccination for young children, your thoughts.

HDV
10-28-2009, 11:58 AM
I have a 16 month old daughter and we are torn about whether or not we should have her vaccinated or not? Do you think it is safe for a child this young? Has anyone had their children done and how old are they if you did? Did they have any reactions to it?
I personally think they are making a big deal about this flu, but im not a doctor. I heard more people die from a flu then this virus. Watching the news they say it is extremely rare to die from it unless you have underlined health issues already. My daughter is healthy has no health issues, never has she had the flu or been sick, besides a stuffy nose once that lasted a couple day. I dont know what to do. I want to do what is best for her but I do not want anything happening to her. My wife refuses to take her shopping and out in the public until this swine flu is under control. But we can not isolate her.
So if anyone has any insight or has had their infants or children under 2 yrs old done let me know. Thanks :)

pickles for sale
10-28-2009, 02:57 PM
http://www.who.int/csr/disease/swineflu/frequently_asked_questions/what/en/index.html

Read this from the World Health Organization..
Educate yourself on the shot. It does contain thermisol, which has been removed from all other childhood vaccines excluding the regular flu shot.

verotik66
10-28-2009, 11:59 PM
your child will receive 2 half doses i think they are 2 weeks apart, read up about squalene before you make your decision, it is the adjuvant in the canadian vaccine.

If you can go to the states, you can get single dose injections of the vaccine without the adjuvant adn without the thimersol

verotik66
10-29-2009, 12:00 AM
the rate of death from the H1N1 seems to be double that of the regular flu season, so if they had 50 kids die last year, they would expect 100 kids die this year, it hits some kids hard.

HDV
10-29-2009, 11:42 AM