PDA

View Full Version : Simply Accounting SetUp



lotsagifts
07-17-2010, 04:48 PM
Hi,

Looking for information on anyone who may help me set up my business on Simply Accounting. Any info would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

1337
07-17-2010, 05:07 PM
The 1-800 on the back.

Depending on what version you bought they have free tech support :)

lotsagifts
07-17-2010, 05:26 PM
I understand that. I would like someone to sit down with me to help me get it set up with all the basic account stuff, taxes, etc. I know how to use S/A, but have never set up a business and am not confident in trying it by myself.

1337
07-17-2010, 06:15 PM
Oops, my bad.

Misunderstood ya :)

lotsagifts
07-17-2010, 06:59 PM
That's alright. I hope I can find someone to help me soon. :) I have been staring at this computer for hours and still feel no more ahead than when I started :(

lotsagifts
07-18-2010, 11:50 AM
Seriously! I need help please!

Evil Monkey
07-18-2010, 12:05 PM
How long ago did you buy this software? Does it include all the new tax tables and laws? If not in the program will you be able to upgrade your tax tables online?
Setting up accounting software is specific to each individual business and not something to be taken lightly. You may not have any idea what a mess you can get into with Revenue Canada if you are not set up properly with your accounting. Personally I would not want to be involved in this set up as if you don't have up to date laws and info loaded and you get audited Rev Can will nail you to the wall.

lotsagifts
07-18-2010, 12:09 PM
I just bought it yesterday. So it should be up to date now. I know the severity of the issue which is why I am in need of help. :)

Koss
07-18-2010, 01:57 PM
maybe you should get an accountant

Huggy85
07-18-2010, 02:04 PM
Sault College teaches using Simply Accounting. Maybe you could post an ad at the college to get a student to help you. I'm sure you could get one to tutor you fairly cheaply.

b&aMom
07-18-2010, 08:03 PM
You are very likely going to have to pay for what you are looking for. In 1989 I charged $30/hr doing what you are looking for with different accounting software.

The easiest thing to do is start at the beginning of your financial year, pulling opening account balances from your fin. Statements. Each payable or receivable account will need each transaction entered separately, it's a pain.

b&aMom
07-18-2010, 08:04 PM
I meant starting in Jan. if your year end is Dec 31.

intuit
07-19-2010, 07:07 AM
what you have to do is set up a chart of accounts specific to your business...( revenue, liabililties, expenses ect ). Then transfer the balances ( manual input) to these accounts. You can also perform payroll calculations if so desired. set your fiscal year and your ready to go.

lotsagifts
07-19-2010, 08:42 AM
I don't have a problem paying for it. Just didn't want to go to an accountant quite yet. Time is also a pressure. I understand the concept, but am afraid to venture of on my own without more expertise. I can handle the day to day activities, just the start up scares the heck out of me. :)

MaO3
07-21-2010, 12:35 PM
What about someone like Marian's bookkeeping? Maybe one of thier girls would be able to help you on the side?

Mimi
07-25-2010, 02:01 PM
I had mine set up by BDO. It's worth the money.