PDA

View Full Version : Students

Oscar_Leroy
01-23-2011, 04:50 PM
Just a quick question for the students out there.

What made you choose your area of study? Was it a decision based on a passion for the subject you chose to study, an interest that you decided to turn into a career, or something you considered a smart career choice?

For me, I originally chose to go to back to school out of interest, but found that I had a complete passion for a completely different topic, and that's why I am still in school.

I thought this was an interesting question to ask.

Amaranth
01-23-2011, 06:14 PM
I went back to school (after 20 years) because I wanted to work for more than minimum wage. I decided to become a Social Service Worker because I wanted to work with women and children who were abused and with people who struggle with addictions. I graduated, worked a little then decided I wanted to get my Bachelor's in Psychology so now I am currently going to Algoma University. I have decided I will probably work to get my Master's in Psychology since I had quite a few transfer credits toward my BA. I want to work with kids so most of the classes I have taken are related to the development of children, disorders, behaviour mod, etc.

Dragonfly
01-23-2011, 07:27 PM
I originally started college in another course and really hated it. After taking a psych. class I decided what I wanted to do and transferred to my current course because I want to work with high risk youth. When I am done this program next April, I go onto my BA in Social Work, and then it depends on if I get a job in the area that I want, but I may go onto MSW.

Oscar_Leroy
01-23-2011, 08:09 PM