Vianet.ca
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 24

Thread: 360 RROD

  1. #1
    Senior Member Strife's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Sault Ste. Marie
    Posts
    6,313

    Default 360 RROD

    Okay......so my second hand purchase of a 360 went pretty good. When I got my hands on it, I turned it on and smiled with glee. This was only the second time I had touched a 360, the first outside of a store. All seemed to be well when I got a dreaded red ring of death error. After a few choice words and trying a few common PC troubleshooting steps (hardware reset, re-seating power cable, etc....) I got it to work again. This happened a few times and I was thinking maybe it was an updfate from XBOX Live. Today I go to turn on my console and this time I get the 3 flashing red lights. Apparently its supposed to mean a generic hardware failure. I called Microsuck and they are sending me a box to ship my console to them. My question is, what am I likely to experience here?
    <insert witty comment here>

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Sault Ste. Marie, ON
    Posts
    3,043

    Default Re: 360 RROD

    you wait a small ammount of time, they send you a newer refurbed console. End of story [img]/ubbthreads/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/smile.gif[/img]

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    1,353

    Default Re: 360 RROD

    ya, supposedly the kinks are mostly worked out now, and the replacement should work fine (knock on wood) i've gone thru many, lol

  4. #4
    Senior Member Strife's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Sault Ste. Marie
    Posts
    6,313

    Default Re: 360 RROD

    Yeah I have heard alot of horror stories when it comes to sending your console off to Microsoft. Its pretty sad that this thing only lasted for a month after I got it. I bought this machine off of Kinger.
    <insert witty comment here>

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    1,353

    Default Re: 360 RROD

    ya, i wouldnt buy one used, sometimes you get RROD of whatever it's acronym is, lol. But if they're gonna fix it, s'all good.

  6. #6
    Senior Member Strife's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Sault Ste. Marie
    Posts
    6,313

    Default Re: 360 RROD

    Well the guy I bought it off of, I also bought my Wii off of. The Wii worked like brand new for the time I had it so I didnt hesitate to buy the 360. I guess it was just a matter of time before it broke down. Should I expect maybe a replacement 360 or just have my model returned back to me fixed up?
    <insert witty comment here>

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    1,353

    Default Re: 360 RROD

    i've gone thru...i think im on my 7th since launch, lol
    everyone one has had a different serial number, i.e., it's been a different console altogether.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Sault Ste Marie
    Posts
    4,771

    Default Re: 360 RROD

    depends how busy. I waited 3 days once... And then another I waited over 2 months.

  9. #9
    Senior Member Strife's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Sault Ste. Marie
    Posts
    6,313

    Default Re: 360 RROD

    Wow.....Microsuck really dropped the ball on this one didnt they. I guess it doesnt come as a surprise though as they have a history of rushing things out to market *cough*Vista*cough*......sorry....bad cold.
    <insert witty comment here>

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Ottawa
    Posts
    1,750

    Default Re: 360 RROD

    The downside to having a new console, if you own any Xbox Live Arcade games or any download content whatsoever, you have to be connected to Live to access it from now on.
    Asus P5Q Pro
    4GB Mushkin XP
    Intel Core 2 Duo E8500
    WD 640GB SATA2 (x2)
    Radeon HD 4850
    Vista Premium

  11. #11
    Senior Member Strife's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Sault Ste. Marie
    Posts
    6,313

    Default Re: 360 RROD

    seriously? So if I downloaded a bunch of songs for RockBand, I have to connect to XBL to play them?
    <insert witty comment here>

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Sault Ste. Marie, ON
    Posts
    3,043

    Default Re: 360 RROD

    no

  13. #13
    Senior Member Strife's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Sault Ste. Marie
    Posts
    6,313

    Default Re: 360 RROD

    okay because I was gonna say thats another way for Microsoft to screw with people.
    <insert witty comment here>

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Ottawa
    Posts
    1,750

    Default Re: 360 RROD

    <div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tormented Soul</div><div class="ubbcode-body">no</div></div>

    Wrong Duff. It's the same as if you download your profile on a friend's console, you can play your DLC in Rock Band, but if you lose the connection to Live, you cannot access those songs.

    It must be the original HDD otherwise a connection to Xbox Live is required. Ask Microsoft, they'll confirm that. There's been a couple cases of Microsoft doing the re-licensing process for content on a few people's systems, but apparently it takes them forever to get around to it.
    Asus P5Q Pro
    4GB Mushkin XP
    Intel Core 2 Duo E8500
    WD 640GB SATA2 (x2)
    Radeon HD 4850
    Vista Premium

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Sault Ste. Marie, ON
    Posts
    3,043

    Default Re: 360 RROD

    Well yeah ... you dont send in your hard drive though. As long as you ahve the DLC on your hard drive, it's playable whenever.

    <div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">So if I downloaded a bunch of songs for RockBand, I have to connect to XBL to play them? </div></div>

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    1,353

    Default Re: 360 RROD

    i dunno about the songs
    i know that i can't play Live Arcade games offline that i downloaded on older systems (tho it's the same hard drive) but i can play, Geo Wars 2 offline, cuz i downloaded it on this console
    it's crap

  17. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Ottawa
    Posts
    1,750

    Default Re: 360 RROD

    <div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tormented Soul</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Well yeah ... you dont send in your hard drive though. As long as you ahve the DLC on your hard drive, it's playable whenever.

    <div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">So if I downloaded a bunch of songs for RockBand, I have to connect to XBL to play them? </div></div></div></div>

    It's playable, but because the console serial number is different, it requires the connection to Live. That's a small piece of the reasoning that Microsoft gives a free Silver Live Membership to every console I would think. Regardless, not a big deal if you have internet... which most people do.
    Asus P5Q Pro
    4GB Mushkin XP
    Intel Core 2 Duo E8500
    WD 640GB SATA2 (x2)
    Radeon HD 4850
    Vista Premium

  18. #18
    Senior Member Strife's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Sault Ste. Marie
    Posts
    6,313

    Default Re: 360 RROD

    Yes but I shouldnt have to connect to XBL to play my DLC. That is the whole point of DLC is that its playable whenever. I can see myself b!tchin to MS about this.
    <insert witty comment here>

  19. #19
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Sault Ste. Marie
    Posts
    33

    Default Re: 360 RROD

    Not anymore, MS released the transfer licence tool on xbox.com to fix this problem, I'm on my second and I have been able to play downloaded content offline. MS transfer the licence when you sent it in for repair, from what I've hear, plus wih the new boards out, this problem will be reduced, Jasper will be out next year, and will hopefully eliminate this problem.

  20. #20
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Ottawa
    Posts
    1,750

    Default Re: 360 RROD

    <div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Stedmister</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Not anymore, MS released the transfer licence tool on xbox.com to fix this problem, I'm on my second and I have been able to play downloaded content offline. MS transfer the licence when you sent it in for repair, from what I've hear, plus wih the new boards out, this problem will be reduced, Jasper will be out next year, and will hopefully eliminate this problem.</div></div>

    Really? That's actually news to me... and great news if thats true.
    Asus P5Q Pro
    4GB Mushkin XP
    Intel Core 2 Duo E8500
    WD 640GB SATA2 (x2)
    Radeon HD 4850
    Vista Premium

+ Reply to Thread

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts