Vianet.ca
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: HD PVR Question

  1. #1
    Moderator Coach's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Dah Soo
    Posts
    534

    Default HD PVR Question

    Hello all....I have a Motorola HD PVR...I was wondering if it was at all possible to hook up and external hard Drive to the SATA ot USB hub in the back to increase my memory for recorded programs....The family all wants different shows to be recorded but sometimes we seem to have too much going on and it starts to fill up....any Ideas.....
    IF I GOT SMART WITH YOU....HOW WOULD YOU KNOW??

  2. #2
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    up yer arse
    Posts
    1,424

    Default Re: HD PVR Question

    I'd call motorola

  3. #3
    Senior Member Evil Monkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    2,272

    Default Re: HD PVR Question

    Motorola hasn't released firmware to allow for drives larger than 160GB, nor have they released firmware that enables the SATA port or USB. There is nothing Shaw can do about this
    The USB ports also do not allow for external drive attachments, although they do have power and can be handy for charging devices (like an iPod)
    You cannot mount the drive in the STB using the FireWire port, no matter what OS you have. That port, like the HDMI and component outputs, works for live audio/video output only -- what is playing on the PVR is what comes out that port, be it a recorded show, or the current channel tuned on the STB.
    You may be able to record output from the FireWire if you have a compatible capture card, the correct drivers, the correct software, if certain broadcast flags are not set. Some people have no problem, for others is seems to be a crap-shoot.

  4. #4
    Senior Member H.E. Pennypacker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Sault Ste. Marie
    Posts
    4,190

    Default Re: HD PVR Question

    shaw will soon be offering their PVR Extender for the motorola models, right now it only works on pace pvrs. the expander is 1tb.

    there is a LOT of info on it here,
    http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=112018

    and apparently shaw is working on releasing the ability to add your own sata drive / or the expander in the next firmware release.

    hope that helps.

  5. #5
    Moderator Coach's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Dah Soo
    Posts
    534

    Default Re: HD PVR Question

    Thanks all....much appreciated...
    IF I GOT SMART WITH YOU....HOW WOULD YOU KNOW??

  6. #6
    Moderator Coach's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Dah Soo
    Posts
    534

    Default Re: HD PVR Question

    they were selling the expander 1tb for 150 today...they say it will work on the motorola



    FYI
    IF I GOT SMART WITH YOU....HOW WOULD YOU KNOW??

  7. #7
    Senior Member H.E. Pennypacker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Sault Ste. Marie
    Posts
    4,190

    Default Re: HD PVR Question

    Quote Originally Posted by Coach View Post
    they were selling the expander 1tb for 150 today...they say it will work on the motorola



    FYI
    shaw itself, coach? if they must have had a firmware upgrade to allow them to now work with the motorola boxes. awesome

  8. #8
    Moderator Coach's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Dah Soo
    Posts
    534

    Default Re: HD PVR Question

    Yep...Shaw was in the mall...selling it
    IF I GOT SMART WITH YOU....HOW WOULD YOU KNOW??

+ Reply to Thread

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts