Vianet.ca
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Any Guitar Makers?

Default Any Guitar Makers?

I have a CNC router that would be adequate in making a guitar. Im just a hobbyist, and an electric guitar would be a challenging project. I understand the neck can be purchased along with the majority of the pieces. I was thinking of cutting the body on my CNC and purchasing the other parts. I have several templates that I have downloaded off the net Les Paul, Fender, Gibson and Ibanez. Im finding it difficult to source the wood for the body, I have read a solid body is preferred over a laminated body. I need a solid blank somewhere in the size of 16 wide by 20 long at 2 thick.
    If there are guitar builders out there I would love to hear from you and maybe pick your brain.
    These 2 threads are great for learning some tricks.
    http://www.tdpri.com/forum/tele-home...then-some.html
    http://www.tdpri.com/forum/tele-home...cnc-build.html

Default Re: Any Guitar Makers?

Tons of online suppliers of blanks. Usually 1.75" thick. For an extra 50 bucks you can get the routing in all the stock locations. Something to think about.

Get every thing you need in one shipment and save $$.

http://www.warmoth.com/Guitar/Bodies/BodyBlank.aspx

I was looking at the blanks on Stewmac.com and I noticed they are jointed (laminated). This does change things, I could source 8"x2" maple locally and make my own blank. Thanks for the info on warmoth.com I had not seen the predrilled blanks. I still think routing my own will be a fun project. I would need some help on fitting the proper electronics to the template I pick. I do not want to purchase the wrong pickups or bridge...

Nothing wrong with a two piece body. If your doing a natural finish you might want to add a fancy book matched top. If your doing a solid colour you won,t see the seem anyway. Very few guitar/basses ship with a one piece body.