Vianet.ca
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: keyboard help

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    5,682

    Default keyboard help

    hi, i cleaned my keyboard and now ive pressed something. i think its the french key. when i try to hit the question mark i get this É what do i unpressÉ thanks.

  2. #2
    Senior Member 8th's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    1,885

    Default Re: keyboard help

    Alt and Shift at the same time to get language options http://www.conversationexchange.com/...d-language.php

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    5,682

    Default Re: keyboard help

    thanks for the link. i dont see that on my control panel. and if i hit alt and shift at the same time nothing happens ÉÉ im stuck with the ethingies. i hit all of my f1.... keys and nothing came up there either. is there anyother wayÉ

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    824

    Default Re: keyboard help

    Try holding down the alt and shift keys for up to 10 seconds -

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    5,682

    Default Re: keyboard help

    É darnm, nothing popped up and nothing changed. thx though.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    5,682

    Default Re: keyboard help

    ÉééÉ the wierdest thing. i am able to use a question mark in emails, just not on windows. does that helpÉ

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    824

    Default Re: keyboard help

    Which version of windows are you using????

    You may want to try and reset your language optuions settings http://windows.microsoft.com/en-CA/w...splay-language

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    5,682

    Default Re: keyboard help

    what do i press to see what version of windows that im usingÉ i have no idea.

  9. #9

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    5,682

    Default Re: keyboard help

    ok i have windows vista home premium version 6.0

    thanks, that site was easy to do. now what do i doÉ

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    824

    Default Re: keyboard help

    I am no expert so if anyone has better help please do. I also run Vista 6 (service pak 2) so I can compare a few things-

    http://www.vistarevisited.com/2008/0...ows-do-i-have/

    by following the instructions on this website you can see what your language settings are.

    When I double click the regional and language options in the control box a new box opens up displaying the current format - mine is English (canada)

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    824

    Default Re: keyboard help

    I am no expert so if anyone has better help please do. I also run Vista 6 (service pak 2) so I can compare a few things-

    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-CA/w...splay-language

    by following the instructions on this website you can see what your language settings are.

    When I double click the regional and language options in the control box a new box opens up displaying the current format - mine is English (canada)

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    824

    Default Re: keyboard help

    Sorry about the double post - cant delete it so ignore the first one

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    5,682

    Default Re: keyboard help

    thanks. the clock setting isnt where my language is, but i finially found my language setting. it is set on english. but i still cant get aquestion mark, only this éééÉÉÉéééé

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    824

    Default Re: keyboard help

    When I go to my control panel and click on Regional and Language settings and click on keyboard and languages and click on change key board I end up with:

    1st line -En (English Canada)
    2nd line -Keyboard
    3rd line - Us
    4th line -Canada
    5th line - Canada Multilingual Standard



    The En in the first line is highlighted in blue all the other words are black. I would suspect if you have anything but the EN highlighted in blue therein lies your problem,

    You might check this site out with regards to your problem and a possible solution http://techreport.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=69466

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    5,682

    Default Re: keyboard help

    mmméé////???

    it happened again. i dont even know how i turned it off the first time. anyway, that link hobo really helped. the first post says that they firgured out that you have to press the control and shift key for 3 seconds to change it. you have to do it a few times to finially get it back to regular.

    i cleaned my keyboard and i figure that is how i am doing it.

  17. #17
    Senior Member Upper Decker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    1,846

    Default Re: keyboard help

    il suffit de faire tout en français, aussi longtemps que vous le savez ce qui se dit que c'est tout ce qui compte lol.
    i7 970 @ 4.4ghz | Gigabyte x58a UD5 | 6 x 2gb Kingston HyperX 1600mhz| Corasir HX1000w PSU | 2 x 40gb Intel SSD + 1TB WD Green | Zotac GTX 480 | Corsair Obsidian 700D
    EK Supreme | MCP655 | XSPC RX360 | DD Dual 5.25" Resvoir | EK GTX480 Nickle | 3 x Sflex 3000rpm 120 x 38mm |

  18. #18
    Senior Member 8th's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    1,885

    Default Re: keyboard help

    Quote Originally Posted by hobo View Post
    When I go to my control panel and click on Regional and Language settings and click on keyboard and languages and click on change key board I end up with:

    1st line -En (English Canada)
    2nd line -Keyboard
    3rd line - Us
    4th line -Canada
    5th line - Canada Multilingual Standard



    The En in the first line is highlighted in blue all the other words are black. I would suspect if you have anything but the EN highlighted in blue therein lies your problem,

    You might check this site out with regards to your problem and a possible solution http://techreport.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=69466
    change the 5th line

  19. #19
    Senior Member MaO3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Just North of Town
    Posts
    9,946

    Default Re: keyboard help

    Kitca I have no idea how it happens but it happens to me all the time.

    if you look at the lower right of your monitor -- you'll see the clock and whatever is running in your task bar.... do you have a keyboard symbol or icon there. If you do click on it and it will allow you to change it back to US - instead of Canadian French
    Attitude is contagious - is your's worth catching?
    The heaviest thing you can carry is a grudge..
    Make peace with your past, so it wont spoil the present

  20. #20
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    5,682

    Default Re: keyboard help

    i dont see either. but i found out you have to press and hold down something for 2 seconds. but i forget what. that worked, holding down a particular key for 2 seconds.

+ Reply to Thread

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts