Vianet.ca
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: dialup questions

  1. #1
    Senior Member Bluesky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    7,371

    Default dialup questions

    I travel to Cuba every year. Each time, I bring in a laptop. I haven't used dialup for decades it seems so I have not kept up with changes in the technology.

    So educate me. If I want to bring in a new laptop (they no longer have the PCMCIA SLOT) that has no built in modem, only a wireless NIC, what do I need to bring in with it to make it dial-up internet capable where no wireless internet exists for the average person?

    I see there is such a thing as a USB modem now?
    The heart of the human problem is the problem of the human heart.

  2. #2
    Senior Member axalon2003's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    654

    Default Re: dialup questions

    You can get usb modms. There are a few here:

    http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...1&keywords=usb modem for laptop&mnf=&lowprice=0&highprice=0

    Copy and paste in to browser to get full search result
    (fixed link)
    Quando omni flunkus moritati.

  3. #3

    Default Re: dialup questions

    I am using a US Robotics USB modem right now, ..... has never failed me.
    Why are you hiding behind a username?

  4. #4
    Senior Member Bluesky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    7,371

    Default Re: dialup questions

    Bought one off Kijiji for $5. US Robotics. Thanks for the pointer.
    The heart of the human problem is the problem of the human heart.

  5. #5
    Senior Member Upper Decker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    1,865

    Default Re: dialup questions

    Prob get a lot better speeds tethering a smart phone to your laptop. Providing you are bringing a smartphone of some sort.
    i7 970 @ 4.4ghz | Gigabyte x58a UD5 | 6 x 2gb Kingston HyperX 1600mhz| Corasir HX1000w PSU | 2 x 40gb Intel SSD + 1TB WD Green | Zotac GTX 480 | Corsair Obsidian 700D
    EK Supreme | MCP655 | XSPC RX360 | DD Dual 5.25" Resvoir | EK GTX480 Nickle | 3 x Sflex 3000rpm 120 x 38mm |

  6. #6
    Senior Member Strife's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Sault Ste. Marie
    Posts
    6,313

    Default Re: dialup questions

    Quote Originally Posted by Upper Decker View Post
    Prob get a lot better speeds tethering a smart phone to your laptop. Providing you are bringing a smartphone of some sort.
    Unless your plan enables tethering, look to give up your first born and perhaps take out a mortgage to cover the data costs.
    <insert witty comment here>

  7. #7
    Senior Member Bluesky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    7,371

    Default Re: dialup questions

    Quote Originally Posted by Upper Decker View Post
    Prob get a lot better speeds tethering a smart phone to your laptop. Providing you are bringing a smartphone of some sort.
    umm, where these laptops and USB modems are going, Smart phones won't help.
    The heart of the human problem is the problem of the human heart.

+ Reply to Thread

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts